Public Safety & Justice Committee

Regular Meetings

  • 1 p.m.
  • Monday (Monthly)


  • Robert Baietto (Chairman)
  • Rachael Parker (Vice Chairman)
  • Brian Elsasser
  • Kate Pastucha
  • Steven Rieker
  • Phillip Salzer
  • Sharon Williams

Committee Overview & Responsibilities


The Public Safety and Justice Committee considers matters concerning: 

  • The operations of the justice system in the County, including: 
    • Adult and Juvenile Detention
    • Civil and Criminal Courts
    • Emergency Management
    • Law Enforcement
  • Environmental issues, including sustainability and resource conservation.  
  • Related to animal control and protection.  
  • Serving as the Appeal Board under the Peoria County Housing Maintenance and Occupancy Ordinance.

Offices Considered

The business of the following offices is considered by the County Operations Committee:

  • 10th Judicial Circuit Agencies
  • Circuit Clerk
  • Coroner
  • Emergency Management Agency
  • Public Defender
  • Sheriff and Sheriff’s Merit Commission
  • State’s Attorney
  • Sustainability and Resource Conservation Office

Liaison Entities

  • City/County Landfill
  • Emergency Telephone System Board
  • Multi-County Enforcement Group